The Fund for Investigative Journalism is accepting proposals for grants to cover the expenses of investigative stories that break new ground and uncover wrongdoing in the public or private sectors. Grants are for up to $10,000 for stories on any topic.

Proposals are due Monday, Sept. 13, 2021, at 11:59 p.m. Eastern. Journalists whose proposals are accepted will be notified (and receive first payment) in October.

  • Visit the online application portal: click Here
  • View a short video with proposal tips from a past grantee and a member of the Fund’s board: click Here
  • Read answers to frequently asked questions about grant applications by clicking Here
  • Learn more about how to request mentorship in the application process from a past grantee by clicking Here

The grant application includes the following components:

  • Brief summary (100 words or less)
  • Full proposal (1,000 words or less) that explains what makes this an investigative journalism project, what the applicant’s investigative plan is, what the story will uncover that’s new, and why the applicant is uniquely suited to do the story
  • Budget for the project
  • Resume and references
  • Letter of commitment from a media outlet to publish the story

The Fund’s Board of Directors, comprised of accomplished journalists, reviews grant proposals and decides which ones to approve. Journalists who receive grants are also eligible for other support, including editorial mentorship, pro bono legal help and training. 

For an index of stories published in the last 12 months with support from the Fund for Investigative Journalism, go click Here.

For highlights of the impact of stories supported by the Fund click Here

Thomson Foundation Young Journalist Award, in partnership with the UK Foreign Press Association. The competition is now in its ninth year, and open for entries until September 10th, 2021

  • The award is an annual competition dedicated to finding and inspiring ambitious journalists from across the globe.
  • Journalists aged 30 and under, from countries with a Gross National Income (GNI) per capita of less that $20,000 are asked to send in their best stories.
  • Judges of the award look for stories that are revelatory, prompt public debate and have led to, or have the potential to lead to, positive change in society.

This year – in the year of COP26 – we are adding an additional environmental component to the awards. Every year, applicants are asked to submit a portfolio of three stories. This time, at least one of the three pieces submitted must have an environmental reporting element. Three finalists will be awarded £1,000 learning bursaries or funds to buy equipment. An additional £1,000 bursary will be awarded to the journalist with the best environmental story. Winner announcements will be made on the night of the FPA Awards in London on 29th November, 2021. The competition is a great opportunity for young and aspiring journalists at the start of their careers. Syrian filmmaker, Waad Al Kateab, Sudanese journalist, Yousra Elbagir and Kenyan documentary maker, Maurice Oniang’o, have all benefitted from the annual competition, which is the highlight of the FPA Awards. For further information, and to see the judges involved, please see Here